What order do you use when you work up a load?

Discussion in 'Handloads for all Sako models' started by DT400, Feb 12, 2017.

1. DT400

DT400 Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    I have been reloading for more than 30 years. I by no means know everything but have learned a heck of a lot and am always trying to learn more.

So I am looking at working up some loads for a SAKO 243 I just picked up and was just wondering what the rest of you do.

I am not talking about the method you use but more the order you test your components.

So once you have your brass, bullets, powder and primers picked what order do you test the components?

I have always, more I guess just because it seems logical to me more than hearing about it, start with the bullet about .010 off the lands and then test various powder weights until I settle on the highest velocity most accurate powder then work on seating depth variations then once that is done I'll try various crimps, Using Lee factory crimp dies, then if I think there is more to be found I will try different primers. If I am not happy at that point I will start with a different component and do it all again.

So I do

1 )powder wt,

2) seat depth

3) crimp

4) primers

What does everyone else do and why a different order

Darrell

2. GreyFox

GreyFox Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Georgia
    Not answering your question, per se, BUT for your 243, try a max load of IMR 4350 and 100 gr Nosler PArtition for deer, DEVASTATING and super accurate in mine....

I start with the manuals (still old school prefer print over typed) and look for a 95% or better volume for the weight I intend to shoot.

My reloading life is simple, so Remington brass (I've always had the best luck with them) Nosler bullets and Federal primers - again it's what works for me.

I set to SAAMI specs and work from there,

3. Cali

Cali Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Vermont