Vixen L461 .223 Insurance Value

Discussion in 'Valuation Corner' started by Baxter_Spritely, Dec 28, 2018.

1. Baxter_Spritely

Baxter_Spritely Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Iowa
    My wife just inherited a Sako Vixen .223 and we want to add it to our scheduled guns on our homeowner's insurance. I've looked around here and on some auction sites to try to get a handle on value, but it seems to vary widely based on many things, some of which I don't understand since I'm new to this Sako thing.

I've attached pictures of serial number and other marks on the gun. Anyone able to offer some guidance? I'm not looking for sale value, but insurance coverage.

After reading some of these threads I'm excited to get out and shoot it. She seems to have gotten a nice piece. 20181224_215415.jpg 20181224_215547.jpg 20181224_215426.jpg

2. Branxhunter

Branxhunter Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    Australia
    State/Region:
    AU Victoria
    Can't help you with value, but they are very interesting scope rings - the bases look like Sako, with the top of the rings hinged on the LHS

Marcus

3. gowyo

gowyo Sako Junkie

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Wyoming
    Not enough detailed pictures, but if representative of entire rifle, I'd value it @1000.00 USD for replacement value.

4. paulsonconstruction

paulsonconstruction Sako-addicted

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Iowa
    Insurance companies will depreciate any value you place on it & come up with every excuse possible to not honor your claim, regardless. Just my humble opinion & speaking from experience, but insurance premiums on $1000 guns is not a good use of your hard earned money. After a few years you will have paid for the gun again, anyway. Better to spend it on a good quality fireproof safe.

Unclekax and stonecreek like this.
  5. stonecreek

stonecreek SCC Secretary Forum Owner SCC Board Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Texas