new sako guy looking for info on a Riihimaki

Discussion in 'General Sako Discussions' started by 6.5guy, Mar 17, 2015.

1. 6.5guy

6.5guy Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA Saskatchewan
    Hello from sask. canada I am new to the whole sako game as I upgraded from a tikka t3 last year to a sako 85 hunter. and have started looking for more.

I just got this little gem in a trade. sako222 Riihimaki no 10164 makers mark and artistic jnt. it has a front sight but no rear sight maybe it went where the rings and bases are? removable peep sight? I tried the interweb and I cant find anything out about the rifle.

one guy told me this was made for the savage arm co. and not to shoot it because the barrel has bad metal??? I find this hard to believe.

Also what should I put on it for optics?

thank you in advance.

Attached Files:

2. 16b410

16b410 Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Pennsylvania
    Savage did not make the rifle, It was made in Finland at the Sako plant and you needn't worry about the steel used in the rifle. You can peruse the internet for info on your early Sako, but if you want mountains of good information, you can find all you need to know right here. Enjoy!

3. 6.5guy

6.5guy Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA Saskatchewan
    I have found (been told) that the correct name is L46, the L46 came out in 1946. I know it can not be older then 1950 because it is a 222., its not a carbine because its the 23.5'' barrel and they originally came with a removable peep sight. I would like to find the date it was made. and a idea of the worth not that I want to sell it. also It doesn't say l46 any where is this normal and what is a hang tag and where do I find it?

4. 16b410

16b410 Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Pennsylvania