New L461 .222 Looking for info on it

Discussion in 'Show us your Sako' started by Curt Bloom, Jul 30, 2020.

1. Curt Bloom

Curt Bloom Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Pennsylvania
    Hi folks. Just picked up a beautiful L461 in .222. According to the previous owner, it has sat in the gun safe for atleast the last 30 years. The gun looks like it is brand new. I looked up the serial number and I believe it is a 1965. I am looking for any info I can get on the gun. Is the stock original? I’ve never seen a curly maple stock on a Sako quite like this one. Also might the High Country scope be period correct for the gun? I’m also wondering an approximate value of it. Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. Rogan Kinnear

Rogan Kinnear Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    Australia
    State/Region:
    AU Queensland
    I am by no means a Sako expert by any stretch of the imagination but I suspect that is a custom stock. I can tell you that it appears to have an MV stamp on the receiver which shows that it was inspected by Matti Vartia. There should be a matching stamp on the left-hand side of the barrel down from the calibre stamp that is found on top of the barrel.

Last edited: Jul 30, 2020
  3. icebear

icebear Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Arizona
    That is definitely a custom stock, and a lovely piece of wood. The design and inlay place it firmly in the era when Weatherby was the style king. I had never heard of High Country scopes, but I did a little Google research and found that the High Country name is actually part of Tasco, an importer of mostly budget scopes. If I owned that rifle I'd probably put a better scope on it, but the Tasco is OK for casual range shooting if it is in good condition.

Enjoy your custom Sako!

Rogan Kinnear and Sean Hodges like this.
  4. paulsonconstruction

paulsonconstruction Sako-addicted

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Iowa