Looking for info on old Sako

Discussion in 'Sako Mausers, Hi-Powers and Magnum Mausers' started by slinkylegs, May 19, 2019.

1. slinkylegs

slinkylegs Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA Saskatchewan
    Hey all, I have this old Sako that I've been looking at selling but need to know more about it before I post anything. I'm fairly new to the Sako world so I have very limited knowledge regarding this stuff. I know there are experts here who could get me much further than all my hours of Googling have done thus far!

The gun itself says "Sako" and has a serial number of "110698" stamped beneath it. The caliber is listed as 375 magnum, which I know is a 375 H&H. There are no other markings of the gun as to identify it as a specific model. It has a flip up rear site for 200 yards, which is something I've never seen up close (I like it). The steel is in good shape, with only one spot I know of that is worn (a very small area under the rear base). The wood shows obvious signs of wear, mainly on the cheek piece. No cracks anywhere, and it functions perfectly well.

I suppose my questions would be:

1. What is the exact model? I've heard and had many conflicting reports as to what it is, and I certainly don't want to misidentify it when I sell it.
    2. Based on the model, what is a realistic asking price? Again, based on the different model suggestions I've heard and read so many different price points.

Sako 1.jpg Sako 2.jpg Sako 3.jpg Sako 4.jpg Sako 5.jpg Sako 6.jpg Sako 7.jpg

2. icebear

icebear Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Arizona
    You have what is generally referred to as an FN-Sako. These guns were built in the 1950's. The rifles were built by Sako in Finland on Mauser type actions supplied by FN in Belgium. The FN-Sako rifles were made in .270, .30-06, .300 H&H, .375 H&H, 8x60, and possibly one or two more. The most common caliber by far is .30-06; the .375 is fairly scarce.