Short Actions Just given a L461 in .222. Looking for info about it.

Discussion in 'Sako Short Actions' started by Curt Bloom, Mar 24, 2020.

1. Curt Bloom

Curt Bloom Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Pennsylvania
    I’m pretty new to Sakos. I was just given a L461 in .222 that spent 90% of its life in storage. It’s a really sweet gun. As far as he knows, there’s only been about 50 rounds shot through it and as far as I can tell, it’s in really great shape. I’m just looking for some info on it, maybe a year it was built and a rough value. Thank you.

Attached Files:

ricksengines and icebear like this.

2. stonecreek

stonecreek SCC Secretary Forum Owner SCC Board Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Texas
    Its configuration and serial number are consistent with the late 1970's just prior to when Sako re-labeled the L461 as the A-I. It should be a great shooter. I've never seen a Sako .222 that wasn't knife-edge accurate. I see it has a Leupold scope mounted in factory Sako rings. Can't do much better than that.

3. icebear

icebear Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Arizona
    Looks like a nice one. I'd say it was your lucky day.

dgeesaman likes this.
  4. rjc58

rjc58 Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US North Carolina
    Quite nice, beats a poke in the eye...

5. dfehrenb

dfehrenb Active Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Minnesota
    You are lucky, that’s a great gun, enjoy.

6. dfehrenb

dfehrenb Active Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Minnesota
    Very nice 222. That gun and scope combo should be very accurate.

7. blackjack

blackjack Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    UK
    State/Region:
    UK Crest
    Hello Sako Lovers,