How Many of You Glass- or Pillar-Bed Your Sako Rifles?

Discussion in 'General Sako Discussions' started by South Pender, Jul 1, 2020.

1. South Pender

South Pender Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA British Columbia
    I'm wondering how many of you either glass-bed or pillar-bed (with glass as well as the pillars) your Sako rifles. I'm not thinking solely of bedding for accuracy (where you'd free-float the barrel too), but also of bedding for increased protection against stock damage arising from recoil, particularly with heavier cartridges.

2. Matthew Winter

Matthew Winter Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Texas
    I am by no means an expert but can’t see the value in it when these rifles are robust and often shoot .5 inch groups.

interested to hear what others say, but I would never devalue my finnbear just to make it perhaps slightly more robust or accurate

Matt

3. Jeffy1

Jeffy1 Active Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Montana
    I agree with Matthew. If I have a Sako that requires accurizing (is that a word?) it finds a new home, unless it is a rare piece, then I can live with slightly less than great performance. In recent years I don't think I've had to make that decision anyway. However, I won't hesitate to switch out the trigger if I can find an available canjar trigger to put in its place.

Matthew Winter likes this.
  4. RangerAV

RangerAV Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Maryland
    I did one of those; can't remember details very well, since it was a number of years ago... but I have an AV in .25-'06 and the upshot is that I thought better to not hunt with the gorgeous original wood stock... so I got a MacMillan replacement and then had the action bedded into that.